Isn't It Pretty To Think So?

Dispatches on life, love and the human condition by a wanderer and hopeful romantic

Quick update

Leave a comment

I have woefully neglected this blog, but with good reason. I was pretty preoccupied with Amy’s visit and since then I’ve fallen ill, with a stomach virus that’s made me sicker than I’ve been in a long time. I think I’ll live, and I think part of it is just exhaustion and my body telling me that I need to slow down and rest. Maybe taking up surfing at such an advanced age was not such a good idea!

I have more or less been sleeping since about 5pm on Sunday evening, with some breaks to go to the doctor and the farmacia. I haven’t eaten anything solid since Sunday night, but am about to attempt some coffee now to get rid of my raging, caffeine-addict headache (I didn’t drink coffee yesterday). I took off work yesterday and today but am hoping I’ll be back tomorrow to work the rest of the week.

I think this sickness, as disorienting, painful and depressing as it’s been (nothing makes you more homesick than to fall ill in a foreign country alone) is not a bad thing, though. I think it’s probably a good thing to be resting in preparation for my transition back to New York on Sunday. This is my last week here, and though so far I haven’t spent it quite as I imagined, that’s probably OK.

That said, I’m going to try to catch up with the blog now with some posts detailing what’s been going on in the past week.

Author: elizabethmontalbano

I am a writer, photographer, lover, fighter, traveler and bon vivant currently residing in southwest Portugal.

Leave a Reply

